Meet the Interns – Shannan & Jenny

We thought we’d take a moment this week to introduce you to the two EXCELLENT interns that are working with us this Spring.  You’ll probably get the chance to meet them on your next trip in, but giving tours and being all around great ambassadors for Campbell House is just a small part of what they do and who they are.  Here’s the down-low…

Shannan**

**Shannan has actually been with CHM since SUMMER 2013!!  She must really like us or something…

What are you studying and where?
I’m working on an MA in History and Museum Studies at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville.

Why Campbell House?
I had to do an internship for my Museum Studies certificate and remembered a tour I had taken of the House during the previous summer and thought it could be a great experience.  And a year later, I can say it has been!

ShannanBlog

Shannan

What are you working on at CHM?
I’ve done some research for the upcoming Campbell House cookbook, gave tours, and right now am working on completing my thesis by going through the Museum’s archives as examining the Campbells’ roles as consumers and buyers of fancy furniture.  The working title is “Respectability through Consumption: Furniture Selections of Robert and Virginia Campbell”. (Editors Note: This thing is legit.  Like, hundreds of pages legit.)

When you aren’t slaving away at Campbell House, what are you doing?
Scrapbooking, soap and jewelry making, and softball.  But usually I’m writing my thesis while drinking a nice glass of wine.

What has been your favorite thing about Campbell House?
I love that CHM is constantly learning new things about itself.  We’ll never know all there is to know about the Campbells, and I think the pursuit of this knowledge is what’s been most enjoyable for me.

PC or Mac?
Apple everything except my computer.  So about 50/50.

Favorite Sandwich?
Cuban from Caruso’s Deli (Check them out.  They’re delicious and our go-to lunch place here at CHM).

Little Known Fact About Me:
I have a library of over 2,000 books.  Yikes.

If you were stranded on a desert island what’s the one book you would want to have with you?
Fahrenheit 451
by Ray Bradbury… or Harry Potter.

Jenny

Where have you studied and what are your plans for the future?
I’m currently in the process of applying for an oral history assistantship on Acadian culture with the Maine Humanities Council and hoping to start the Museum Studies program at the University of Missouri-St. Louis next Fall.  I have a Masters Degree in Public History and Humanities from Washington University in St. Louis and a Bachelors Degree from Southeast Missouri State University in Visual Arts and Communications.

JennyBlog

Jenny

Why Campbell House?
Mainly because a small institution like CHM allows me to get a wide variety of experiences and try lots of different things rather than working in a specialized individual department in a large museum.  I also enjoy the immigrant experience aspect of the Campbell family history because of my background in French language and culture.

What are you going to work on at CHM?
I’m hoping to work with the collection, cataloging, and PastPerfect museum software as well as examine the Campbells’ French connections.

When you aren’t slaving away at Campbell House, what are you doing?
I teach French language lessons and am a member of a few different French heritage societies.  I also like to bake.  (Editors Note: She’s also a GREAT cook that can make a mean chili.  She treated us last month.)

PC or Mac?
Mac.

Favorite Sandwich?
Grilled cheese.

Little Known Fact About Me:
I’m an old soul in a young person’s body.

If you were stranded on a desert island what’s the one book you would want to have with you?
Sentimental Education by Gustave Flaubert (that’s “Flow-BEAR” those of you that are a little rusty in the French department).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

