Mission & Staff
Since opening on February 6, 1943, the Campbell House Museum has served the greater St. Louis area as one of the region’s premier historic property museums.
The Museum not only preserves the Campbell’s house, but also their collection of original furniture, fixtures, paintings, objects and thousands of pages of family documents. Included in these documents is a unique album of 60 photographs of the interior of the house taken in about 1885. In 2005 the Museum completed a meticulous five-year restoration that returned the building to its opulent 1880s appearance, when the house was one of the centers of St. Louis society. Click the tab above to read and view pictures from the restoration.
The museum was documented as part of the Historic American Buildings Survey between 1936 and 1941, designated a City of St. Louis Landmark in 1946, listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977, and became a National Trust for Historic Preservation Save America’s Treasures project in 2000.
The Campbell House Museum is constantly working toward its mission:
” The Campbell House Museum is one of the most historically significant Nineteenth Century buildings in St. Louis. The museum preserves its National Register listed buildings and important collection of original mid-Nineteenth Century Philadelphia furnishings, family possessions, photographs, and archival material as a center for educational and community outreach programming.
The museum is dedicated to continually reinterpreting its collections for exploring issues such as; the development of the fur trade, exploration and development of the west, the growth of urban economies, emigration, historic preservation, principles of Victorian interior design, and the urban issues that continue to shape our region today. “
* The museum is owned and operated by the Campbell House Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.